Walks Programme for 2018

Denise Davies is our walks co-ordinator (telephone 01606 330480 or 07932 150516).

 

The dates for walks are shown below on this page.  Denise can provide a list of contact details of the walking dates and leaders but leaders should notify Denise as soon as possible if they wish to change the arrangement.  

 

At least three weeks before the date of the walk, please will the leader send details of the walk to Jean Pritchett (Webmaster@davenhamramblers.co.uk) or telephone 01606 76055 so that full information can be published on the Web-site and in the Guardian.  Leaders should also pin notices for the walk on the notice boards at the Bulls Head, the Village Notice Board and the Spar Shop in Davenham. 

 

 

Formal Walking Dates for 2018.  

 

Wednesday, 4th April 2018.   Leaders:  Pete and Fiona Baker. Location:  Little Budworth.

Sunday, 8th April 2018.    Leader:  Denise Davies.  Location:  Walton,  Moore and Hatton.

Monday, 16th April 2018.   Leader:  Gill Horne.  Location: Lymm

Sunday, 22nd April 2018.  Leaders:  Cath and John Freeman.  Location: Delamere Forest. 

Wednesday, 2nd May 2018.  Leader:  Paul Everatt    Location: Mouldsworth. 

Sunday, 6th May 2018.  Leader: Mike Holmes   Location: Goostrey, Jodrell Bank and Swettenham. 

Monday, 14th May 2018.  Leader:  Dave and Andy Ryder.   Location:  Norley. 

Sunday, 20th May 2018.   

Wednesday, 30th May 2018.  Leaders: Dave Capper and John Beech.  Location:   Bickerton.

Sunday, 3rd June 2018.   Leaders:  Colin and Stef Bond.  Location:  Little Moreton Hall and Astbury.

Monday, 11th June 2018.  Treasure Hunt  Leaders: Ron McLaverty and Jennifer Kennerley. 

Location:  Northwich centre.   

Sunday, 17th June 2018.  Leaders: Julie Farrow and Jean Pritchett. Location:  Thurstaston Hill and the WIrral Coastal Path.

Wednesday, 27th June 2018.  Leaders: Mike and Sue Beresford. Location:  Dutton.  

30th June-1st July 2018.   Weekend Away  arranged by Alan and Jean Briers. Location:  Skipton.

Monday, 9th July 2018.  Leader: Dave Capper.  Location:  Marston, Northwich.  

Sunday, 15th July 2018.  Leaders:  Cath and John Freeman. Location:  Circular Walk around Styal.  

Wednesday, 25th July 2018.  Leader: Dave and Jen Capper   Chester River Dee and the City Walls.

Sunday, 29th July 2018.   Leader:  Alan Briers  Location:  New Mills and the Sett Valley Trail.  

Monday, 6th August 2018.  Leaders;  Julie Farrow and Jean Pritchett.   Nantwich Riverside Loop.

Sunday, 12th August 2018.  LeaderPaul Everatt.  Haughton and Cheshire Villages. 

Wednesday, 22nd August 2018.  Leaders:  John and Cath Freeman. Kelsall and Willington.

Sunday, 26th August 2018.       Sponsored Walk  arranged by Denise Davies to support the Dementia Appeal.  Location: The Wirral - Parkgate and Neston 

Sunday, 9th September 2018.   Day Out by Coacharranged by Julie, Ray, Hayley and Jean.

Location: Morecambe Bay and Carnforth.

Sunday, 23rd September 2018.  Leader:  Evelyn Hewitt.  Peover Eye and Peover Estate.

Sunday, 7th October 2018.   Leaders:  Pete and Fiona Baker.  Congleton Streets and Meres.

 

 

 

Sunday, 21st October 2018.   Leader:  Sue and Mike Beresford

Location:  Tittesworth Reservoir, Leek.

This is a walk of approximately 7 miles along tracks, road and fields.  Dogs are welcome but will need to be on leads where livestock are present.  Walkers should bring a drink and a packed lunch.  

The walk will start at 11 a.m. on Nightingale Gardens, Off Tittesworth Ave., Leek, ST13 6PS.

Directions:  Drive along A523 into Leek, pass the Buxton and Leek College on the left and then shortly afterwards, turn left into Ball Hayes Road. After passing Ball Hayes Green Football Club, turn left into Tittesworth Avenue.  Nightingale Gardens is where there is road parking off Tittesworth Ave.,  

 

 

Sunday, 4th November 2018.   Leader:  Steve Durrands.

Location:  Cheswardine and Hales (Shropshire).

This is a walk of 7.5 miles with easy walking along tracks, lanes and fields - but there are likely to be sheep and cattle in some fields. Walkers should bring a packed lunch and a drink. 

The walk will start at 11 a.m.from St. Swithin's Chuch in Cheswardine, TF9 2RS.   There is no actual car park but there should be plenty of street parking although car sharing would be helpful.  Cheswardine is signposted off the A529 just south of Market Drayton and the journey time from Davenham is just over an hour. 

If members require any more details of the walk or the route or have travelling problems on the day please ring Steve on 07739 479214.   

 

 

Sunday, 18th November 2018.   Leader:  Gill Horne.

 

 

Friday, 23rd November 2018.

End of Season Dinner at The Antrobus Arms.  7.30 p.m.  Arranged by Lynne Durrands    

All members are invited to our end of season dinner that will be held at The Antrobus Arms, Warrington Road, Antrobus, CW9 6JD starting at 7.30 p.m.  Guests are asked to choose two or three courses from the menu that is shown on a separate page of the website.and reservations and full payments should be made to Lynne by 5th November (cheques payable to Davenham Rambling Society).   The cost of two courses is £15 and three courses is £20 - but drinks are extra. 

For further information and to reserve places please ring Lynne on 01606 43754.    

Will members note that this will probably be the last event at which photographs can be taken for the photographic competition as entres should be submitted to John Leese by December 9th.  Entry details and categories are shown on a separate page of this website.