Walks Programme for 2018

Denise Davies is our walks co-ordinator (telephone 01606 330480 or 07932 150516).

 

The dates for walks are shown below on this page.  Members and leaders are asked to notify Denise of the dates when they wish to lead a walk.  

 

The list of dates and leaders will be confirmed at the annual general meeting early in March following which the completed list will be distributed to all members.  At that stage leaders should advise Denise if any details are incorrect.  Members can obtain more lists from Denise during the year.  

 

At least three weeks before the date of the walk, lease will the leader send details of the walk to Jean Pritchett (Webmaster@davenhamramblers.co.uk) or telephone 01606 76055 so that full information can be published on the Web-site and in the Guardian.  Leaders should also pin notices for the walk on the notice boards at the Bulls Head, the Village Notice Board and the Spar Shop in Davenham. 

 

For reference when planning future walks, walks were arranged in the following areas during 2017:

 

Goostrey village : Hare Hill and Alderley Edge : the Waterways between Anderton and Barnton : Bickerton and the Sandstone Trail : Sandiway Woods : Llangollen : Mouldsworth : Hilbre Island : Hale and the Mersey Way : Cilcain and Moel Famau : Overton and Frodsham : Hartford and the River Weaver to Vale Royal : Nant y Frith Llanfynydd : Timbersbrook and The Cloud : Redesmere and Capethorne : Sale and Trafford Waterparks : Crowton and Delamere Way :  Kelsall : St. Asaph, Clwyddian Way and Offas Dyke : Grindley Brook : Farndon : Hawarden : a linear waterways walk between Weaverham and Northwich : and the final walk of the season was through Dunham Massey.  .  

 

Our weekend away was walking around Bewdley in the Severn Valley.  The day trip by coach was to the Ribble Valley, Stonyhurst and Clitheroe.  The Treasure Hunt was around Lymm.  The Sponsored Walk was on behalf of the Samaritans and was centred around Higher Burwardsley.  

The new formal walking season will start at the begining of April 2018 but informal walks will be held before then and members who wish to lead an early walk should give details to Jean Pritchett and John Freeman so that information can be circulated.    

  

Early walking dates for 2018 are as follows:

 

Sunday, January 21st 2018.  Leaders Cath and John Freeman.

Location:  Hartford and the River Weaver.  

This will be a leisurely local walk of about 5 miles following the course of the Weaver between Vale Royal and Hunts locks.  Arrangements have been made to reserve tables at Hartford Hall for walkers who would like a pub lunch at the end of the walk - this should be at about 1.15p.m. or so. 

Walkers should meet at Hartford Hall Hotel, School Lane, Hartford at 10.45 a.m.  There is a hotel car park but walkers should park discretely or nearby.  

 

Sunday, February 4th 2018.  Leaders: Jean Pritchett and Julie Farrow.

Location:  Weaverham and Acton Bridge.

This will be a relatively easy walk of about 5.5 miles along lanes, tracks and footpaths with the possibility of changing the route if conditions are too wet.  Dogs are welcome. Members could bring a packed lunch and a drink but refreshments can be purchased at the Hazel Pear where we will have a bcreak during the walk.  

Walkers should meet at 10.45 a.m. by the road side next to the Leigh Arms, Warrington Road, Little Leigh, CW8 4QT.  

 

Sunday, March 11th 2018.  Leader:  Dave Capper.

Location:  Hartford and Whitegate.

This will be Dave's birthday walk of about 7 miles from Hartford to Whitegate and return.

A lunch stop for about an hour will be at the Plough at Whitegate for a light lunch in the Bar Side of the pub where those who wish to, can select food and drinks from the menu.  Dogs are welcome.

Walkers should meet at Hartford Church, School Lane, Hartford, (opposite Relish cafe-bar) at 10.45 a.m.    

 

 

Formal Walking Dates for the new walking season 2018.   Members who wish to reserve a date to lead a walk should confirm with Denise if the preferred date is still available.  

 

Wednesday, 4th April 2018.  

Sunday, 8th April 2018.

Monday, 16th April 2018.

Sunday, 22nd April 2018.

Wednesday, 2nd May 2018.

Sunday, 6th May 2018.

Monday, 14th May 2018.

Sunday, 20th May 2018.

Wednesday, 30th May 2018.

Sunday, 3rd June 2018.

Monday, 11th June 2018.

Sunday, 17th June 2018.

Wednesday, 27th June 2018.

Saturday/Sunday  1st July 2018 - Weekend away.  Leader Alan Briers.

Monday, 9th July 2018.

Sunday, 15th July 2018.

Wednesday, 25th July 2018.

Sunday, 29th July 2018. 

Monday, 6th August 2018.

Sunday, 12th August 2018.

Wednesday, 22nd August 2018.

 

Sunday, 26th August 2018.       Sponsored Walk.

 

Sunday, 9th September 2018. 

Sunday, 23rd September 2018.

Sunday, 7th October 2018.

Sunday, 21st October 2018.

Sunday, 4th November 2018.

Sunday, 18th November 2018.